Chandigarh Police vs MPs

In March 2020, Bhagwant Mann, then MP for Sangrur, had pointed out that Chandigarh Police officers were not being promoted due to the influx of DSPs from Delhi. Mann had accused the central government of ignoring the 60:40 ratio of Punjab and Haryana and also spoke about the issue in Parliament in Delhi. Prior to Bhagwant Mann, Chairman of Shiromani Akali Dal, Sukhbir Badal had also addressed the issue once.

It all started in 2009 when the UT administration sent a proposal to the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) urging them to make a provision to send police officers, especially DSPs, from Punjab, India. Haryana and Delhi to Chandigarh in deputation for three years. The proposal was accepted and officers from the said states started coming to Chandigarh on assignment for three years.

“Many things were responsible for this proposal. IPS officers from Delhi AGMUT cadres, Punjab Police cadres and others were in favor of the proposal. Understandably, the Chandigarh police inspectors were not happy as the proposal would hurt their promotion prospects. They tried their best to challenge this decision, filing repeated representations, petitions with the Central Administrative Court (CAT) and the High Court of Punjab and Haryana as well. But they failed to stop the influx of officers from other cadres. The picture will be clear if we compare the current structure of the Chandigarh Police with its old structure,” a former senior administrative official, speaking on condition of anonymity, told The Indian Express.

Sanctioned posts

In line with sanctioned posts, the posts of Inspector General of Police (IGP), Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG) are sanctioned for the cadres of Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territories (AGMUT); UT Chief Superintendent of Police (SSP) is for senior Punjab Police and SSP (Security/Traffic) is for senior Haryana Police.

Currently, at least eight IPS officers are stationed in Chandigarh on deputation. Six of them, including DGP Praveer Ranjan, an IPS batch from 1993, DIG Omvir Singh Bishnoi (recently promoted to IG), an IPS batch from 1994, DIG Deepak Purohit, an IPS batch from 2007, SP Ketan Bansal, an IPS batch from 2016, SP Manoj Kumar Meena, a 2012 batch IPS, ASP Shruti Arora, a 2018 batch IPS, ASP Mridul, a 2019 batch IPS, are part of the AGMUT framework and have the upper hand in making key decisions. SSP (UT) Kuldeep Singh Chahal, a 2009 Batch IPS, is from Punjab and SSP (Traffic/Security) Manisha Chaudhary, a 2011 Batch IPS, is from Haryana.

DIG Omvir Singh Bishnoi was promoted to IG as part of AGMUT. His transfer orders have arrived but he has not yet been relieved. DIG Purohit has joined the Chandigarh Police. He was given charge of IG (Prisons), the portfolio that previously belonged to Omvir Singh Bishnoi.

“There are some technicalities in the structure of the Chandigarh Police. At least four IPS positions including IG, DIG, SP (Chandigarh) and SP (Security/Traffic) are for AGMUT executives. IPS officers from Punjab and cadres from Haryana came on deputation to AGMUT cadres and later joined the Chandigarh Police. IPS officers from Punjab and cadres from Haryana had started coming to Chandigarh when terrorism in Punjab was at its peak. Since then, IPS from these two states have come to Chandigarh. But originally the positions belong to AGMUT cadres,” said a senior IPS officer of AGMUT cadres in charge of the service issue in Chandigarh.

Punjab Reorganization Act

“As per the Punjab Reorganization Act, there is an 80:20 provision, where 80% of the total vacancies of DSPs will be filled by promotions and 20% of the vacancies will be filled by the Punjab and Punjab delegation. Haryana. In January 2021, a new policy was issued by the Government of India changing the ratio to 70:30, reducing the promotion quota by 10% and increasing the deputy quota by 10%. It has been mentioned in the policy that mainly deputation officers will only be brought in from Punjab and Haryana but Delhi officers are still coming to Chandigarh,” said lawyer Rohit Seth who represents many officers from UT police in the field of service within the CAT.

At least 24 DSPs are stationed in Chandigarh. Exactly 18 belong to the cadre of Chandigarh Police while six belong to the cadre of Delhi Andaman Nicobar Indian Police Service (DANIPS) including two, Deepak Yadav and Rashmi Yadav Sharma, who have been stationed in Chandigarh since 2014. Six other officers of the DANIPS cadre including Pawan Kumar, Satish Kumar, Anjitha Chipyala, Sukhraj Katewa, Krishan Kumar and Rajeev Kumar Ambasta were transferred to Delhi in 2018. The transfer order came when the issue of their long stay in Chandigarh in deputies, which n It was only three years, was concluded for High Court of Punjab and Haryana. UT Police personnel had taken the matter to the high court.

Meanwhile, six DSPs out of the 18 DSPs, who are currently in Chandigarh, have been given an ad hoc basis (considering rank but not financial benefits). Despite clear orders from the MHA that DSPs from Punjab and Haryana will only be brought in on delegation mainly, the Chandigarh Police Force has yet to see a single DSP on delegation from both states.

“Indeed, five Chandigarg Police Inspectors were promoted through the efforts of DGP Praveer Ranjan, who had recommended their names for promotion. But many concerns related to UT Police personnel have yet to be resolved,” an inspector-ranking officer said.

Problems with the UT font

“There are so many problems with the police in Chandigarh. First, it does not have its own framework. Second, it has a limited scope of promotions. Rare and exceptional are the cases where a Chandigarh Police DSP has been promoted to the rank of Superintendent of Police (SP). Otherwise, the DSP rank is considered the highest promotion in Chandigarh Police. Third, there is no possibility of out-of-town transfer,” a Chandigarh police officer said.

In November 2020, the CAT had ordered the UT administration to consider promoting DSP Ram Gopal to the rank of SP. In issuing the order, the CAT overruled the administration’s submission which argued that there was no vacancy at the grade of SP (non-IPS) in Chandigarh.

The administration had two months to execute the order. Ironically, within a month, he filed a petition in the High Court of Punjab and Haryana challenging the CAT decision. The case is still pending before the High Court. Meanwhile, UT’s police sub-divisions have grown from three to six with the formation of two new traffic police sub-divisions over the past year and a half.

SP (Seat) Manoj Kumar Meena said: “Recently, three UT Police DSPs submitted a representation requesting their 60-year retirement date which is being tracked in Central Government. There are voices in UT police about to move them below the Central Services pay scale. The matter is under review. DSP Dilsher Singh Chandel, DSP Gurmukh Singh and another are set to retire in the coming months.

Comments are closed.